Unbowed.

“I am no bird; and no net ensnares me: I am a free human being with an independent will.” – Charlotte Brontë in Jane Eyre

Unbowed.

On the face of it there could be no two images which greater represent the antitheses of human nature; the dour, Victorian image of Jane Eyre contrasted with the fiery and fierce Dornishwoman. In truth, they are one in the same.

There can be no finer example of proto-feminist literature than Jane Eyre and the quote I’ve chosen for today’s post illustrates precisely the kind of independent and fiery spirit readers encounter in the title character herself. It’s pure and unadulterated in its passion and its convictions. Intentional or otherwise, this is always the kind of image which evokes itself in my mind when I encounter strong feminine roles or concepts. In a great many senses, Jane Eyre was the first of many who would come to follow in her fictional footsteps and for that, she remains one of my favourite literary motifs.

And what better premise to inform that famous Dornish idiom of, “Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken.”

Without a doubt, it is the Dornish culture of George R. R. Martin’s The Game of Thrones which captured my creativity here.

Unbent.

I am overjoyed to have been chosen to blog for this round of We ❤ Roleplay!

There is /so/ much quality to choose from this round and I struggled to choose what I would begin to blog with. Ultimately, however, I had to start with the beautiful and exotic offering from The Muses.

I have to say that I haven’t bought anything from The Muses in quite some time, although their items have already been quality products they have never suited my roleplay characters. In truth, neither does this dress but it’s just too damn nice to pass over. The texturing on the wrap tunic top in particular is very nice and right up my street. Combined with the distressed shrug from {Zaara} and an old favourite from RYCA and the look is almost complete.

Other favourites from this round of We ❤ Roleplay come from [The Forge] and .random.Matters.

Unbroken.

Skin:  New Faces – Lyandra

Eyes: IKON Promise Eyes – Leonine

Hair (01): +Spellbound+ Nahara – Brunettes (Modified)

Hair (02): booN KED937 – Browns

Dress: The Muses Deep Shade – Gold/Flame (Available at We ❤ Roleplay!)

Scarf: {Zaara} Naina Distressed Shrug – Gold

Collar: -RYCA- Choker LHG – Gold

Face Art: [The Forge] Face Art – Gold (Available at We ❤ Roleplay!)

Cuffs: .random.Matter. Wysteria Cuffs – Gold (Available at We ❤ Roleplay!)

Hands: . a i s l i n g . LadyofHighgarden Hands – Gold (Old Gacha Item, Still Available)

Sandals: ISON Leather Strap Sandals – Tan

Lion: Mesh Mafia Full Perm Lion

Leave a comment